Community Profile

Wabash County is nestled in northeastern Indiana conveniently located near Fort Wayne, South Bend, Kokomo, and Marion. MSD of Wabash county is one of three school districts in the county. Wabash has a population of about 11,000 and features the Honeywell Center, a popular historical community center. The school district includes the small communities of Roann, Urbana, Lagro, LaFontaine, and Somerset. The area is largely agricultural and features many small businesses.

There are many educational opportunities available at nearby Manchester College, Indiana Wesleyan and IVY TECH. The community is also well known for its many recreational opportunites for youth and adults. Two large reservoirs are located in the county for water recreational activities.

The MSDWC school system serves students in five townships (except that portion of Noble Township which comprises Wabash City Schools) of Wabash County, covering 292 square miles in a quaint rural environment. There are four elementary schools and two jr.-sr.high schools consisting of approximately 2,100 students. The district also includes White's Jr.-Sr. High School which provides education for about 190 students from across the state. Students are placed at White's Residential and Family Services as a result of court decisions. In addition, the district is the LEA for special education services to students in four school districts. All school facilities are modern and in excellent condition. Technology is an integral part of instruction as exemplified by each building's networking for audio, data, and video communications.

Wabash Chamber of Commerce
Wabash Plain Dealer
The Paper
Wabash County Hospital
Wabash County Area Network
Wabash Carnegie Public Library
The Honeywell Center
Wabash County YMCA